Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
What's the difference between imagination and visualization?
01-06-2017, 12:04 AM
I have been meditating for about 6 months now. I'm mostly able to keep my head clear without much effort - not gonna say I can clear my mind because no-one really is capable of doing that, but I can easily let go of distracting thoughts - and I can maintain that for approximately half an hour.

I am also able to visualize with open eyes, things like breathing white light, pillars of light, energy around my body, etc.

But how is visualization any different from imagination? I don't really see the things I'm visualizing/imagining when I'm doing it. If I hold my hands together and visualizing a ball of energy, I can keep it there for a few minutes before I lose concentration but it's not like I'm really seeing it. It's kind of like... I know it's there, but it's invisible.

When reading about sigil magick, I saw some articles mention visualizing sigils seemingly popping off the paper, or lighting up, or their lines glowing. When I try it I can immediately imagine these things and I'm wondering if I'm capable of visualizing things easily, or if I'm (more likely hah) doing it wrong.

I guess I don't have a particularly concrete question. More akin to asking for your experience.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-06-2017, 01:24 AM (This post was last modified: 01-06-2017 01:26 AM by travsha.)
Visualization is imagination. It helps you focus on something. You are using your imagination to help you focus on something or even to direct something. Imagination can be a very useful tool.