• Hi guest! As you can see, the new Wizard Forums has been revived, and we are glad to have you visiting our site! However, it would be really helpful, both to you and us, if you registered on our website! Registering allows you to see all posts, and make posts yourself, which would be great if you could share your knowledge and opinions with us! You could also make posts to ask questions!

Greetings and Blessings from a Budding Shaman

Status
Not open for further replies.

IllusiveOwl

Neophyte
Reaction score
Awards
Hello and good tidings!

I am a simple American College sophomore working on a Bachelors with a major in Psychology and minor in Sociology. Externally, I am working towards a grad program that will allow me access to work in the developing field of Psychedelic Psychotherapy and perhaps a PhD, though the internal work is where my real passions lie. I am putting considerable effort to learn both esoteric healing & the square-psychological approach (with a love for Jung) to find some kind of synthesis.

I will not go into my background, but it was unpleasant enough to warrant an honest Dark Night of the Soul that caused about a year of acute suffering before it was over. While teetering over the void and hearing it's whispers of sweet oblivion, I read many books in the field of psychology relating to trauma, growth, purpose, etc, but I only found the nectar of soma when I read through the Bhagavad Gita, which then launched me into a deep rabbit hole of Buddhism and Zen that brought peace back to my heart. I enrolled myself in college and have been adhering to a strict meditation regimen for a few years now. All of my classes and regular social activities happen in the background now, to sustain me physically / mentally so I can later explore mythology, mysticism, and investigate into different arcane traditions in search of truth.