• Hi guest! As you can see, the new Wizard Forums has been revived, and we are glad to have you visiting our site! However, it would be really helpful, both to you and us, if you registered on our website! Registering allows you to see all posts, and make posts yourself, which would be great if you could share your knowledge and opinions with us! You could also make posts to ask questions!

[Tutorial] random recipes for basic stuff you need at home (Detergent Powder) like really detergent powder for washing you clothes

Informative post.

Grundy

Zealot
Reaction score
Awards
Hey guys,

Figured given the whole world is turning to shit cuz of the pandemic, being hygienic and clean is a big thing so I'm going to put in some quick guides on how to make some store grade household suppliers from powdered detergents up to shampoos, shampoo bars, soaps, bath bombs etc.

Note: this is actually something I do for a living as one of my businesses is a B2B OEM manufacturer of household items haha. So here the recipe.

So to make powdered detergent, the things you will need are:

1. Sodium Sulfate - this is actually just a derivative of salt but this makes up more than 70% of all powdered detergents and acts as a surfactant.
2. Sodium Bicarbonate (also known as soda ash) - this acts just like another surfactant and also helps in the cleaning action of the soap
3. linear alkylbenzene sulfonate or LABS - this an mild acid that helps break down stains in clothes it also helps generate bubble which make most moms happy for some reason (PROTIP: bubbles have nothing to do with cleaning action but moms swear by it)
4. coco fatty alcohol sulfate (CFAS) - this is really a foamer more than anything but it also stabilizes the lather that shows up in the final product