• Hi guest! As you can see, the new Wizard Forums has been revived, and we are glad to have you visiting our site! However, it would be really helpful, both to you and us, if you registered on our website! Registering allows you to see all posts, and make posts yourself, which would be great if you could share your knowledge and opinions with us! You could also make posts to ask questions!

Who 'gets' Agrippa?

tranmut3

On Probation
Warned
Probation
Reaction score
I'm rather struggling to 'get' Agrippa. I recently got Erik Purdue's new translation of Agrippa's 3 books, having never read Agrippa at all before. For background, i've been working Josephine Mccarthy's Quaeria system for a couple of years, and I'm quite familiar with western hermetic qabalistic magic, Egyptian magic, the lemegaton etc. But The 3 books, a lot of the time, seems... just... nonsense. It seems almost sacriligious to say.
The thing that is helping is the marvellous 'Esoterica' youtube channel, where Justin Sledge is running a weekly look at Agrippa's life, philosphy and works, and its fascinating.
And I'm wondering, does anyone know of any 'guide to Agrippa' books out there, commentaries on the 3 books, or something of that sort? Or modern systems based around Agrippa? I've looked and there's almost nothing at al, at least in English.

SkullTraill

Glorious Light of Knowledge and Power
Staff member
Custodian
Librarian
Reaction score
Awards
What are you not getting? Agrippa is literally just hermetic, kabbalistic elemental + planetary magick study notes. It is not a "system" or "order" in the same way that quaeria/GD is. It is essentially just reference material and notes. Every English book on Agrippa is basically a "guide to agrippa". It is just a bunch of notes, statements, guides, tutorials etc. It is not meant to be a "course" that should be followed.

I view it as a refernce source.

stalkinghyena

Labore et Constantia
Benefactor
Vendor
Reaction score
Awards