• Hi guest! As you can see, the new Wizard Forums has been revived, and we are glad to have you visiting our site! However, it would be really helpful, both to you and us, if you registered on our website! Registering allows you to see all posts, and make posts yourself, which would be great if you could share your knowledge and opinions with us! You could also make posts to ask questions!

Allowing expansion of conversations within threads

Status
Not open for further replies.

Challis

Zealot
Reaction score
Awards
Hello all, I hope you are well, whenever you are.
I have seen this a few times on the forums, to keep discussion related to the thread. This is important on large threads that many respond to, to remove tangents from frequenting.
However in smaller posts (which are more frequent), I think we dhould allow for expansion.
1) to continue engagement
2)to give others chance to engage
3)to remove dissuasion. As a newbie I have a lot of questions I don't ask because I don't want to read that "keep to thread" message.

4)lastly and most importantly, to accrue knowledge. The more people ask the more is discussed and potentially answered. Then there is more info for a passerby to read. Through critical analysis and group discussion I believe we can do more in general.

Again this is not solely my idea. Apologies if this has been posted before.

Let me know what you think.

Blessings,
Challis

KjEno186

Site Staff
Staff member
Jr. Staff Member
Reaction score
Awards
1) Start a new thread about the topic of interest which does not conform to the current topic (or use an existing thread if that topic has been discussed in the past).
2) Who are these 'others'?